Kumara, Spinach & Bacon Quiche

I love to cook whenever I have a weekday off.

Today, I bought a bag of spinach and there were bacon, eggs and three orange Kumaras (Beauregard) aka Sweet Potatoes in my pantry.  Trying to minimise carbs in my diet lately, I did away with pastry sheets and used the Kumaras as the base for my quiche.

Our body requires a certain amount of carbohydrate to fuel the brain and the muscles.  As a child, I was told that I must finish my plate of rice so I will grow up healthy and smart.  In fact, we ought to know that the issue is not carbs themselves but what we do to them.  It is the heavy processing that tends to strip carbs of essential nutrients that leads to them being digested more rapidly than we would if we consumed them in their natural state.  In other words, there are good carbs and bad carbs.

Rice is a bad carb but to give up rice is hard especially when you have all those nice sambal and curry dishes that won’t taste quite the same without rice.

I eat rice maybe once or twice a week, the same frequency goes for bread as well.  A single cup of cooked short grain rice has a massive 58g of total carbohydrate and two small slices of grain bread give 24g.  The rest of my week’s menu are meats (chicken, beef or lamb) sausages, quiches, pies, roasts, vegetables, sometimes fish or seafood.  My dishes are a mixture of European and Asian so I call myself a Fusion Home Chef.

Now back to the subject of this post.  Yes, Kumara is a good carb.

Kumara/Sweet potato

The rich colour of sweet potato or “kumara” is a strong indication of its high nutrient content, in particular, beta-carotene, an antioxidant that is converted into Vitamin A in the body. Sweet potato is also packed with vitamins B6 and C, fibre, Vitamin E and magnesium and is best cooked using a little extra virgin olive oil to maximise nutrient absorption. Per ½ cup serving, sweet potato contains 5g of fibre and 24g of carbohydrate. Even though the carbohydrates in sweet potato are low GI, the density of sweet potato means that you still need to be mindful of portions if weight control is your goal.

Here’s the recipe for Kumara, Spinach & Bacon Quiche.

Ingredients

3 Kumara
A bag of Spinach (with stem)
One big onion (or 2 pickling onions) – cut in slices
4 pieces of Bacon (optional if you want a vegetarian quiche)
3 cloves of garlic – chopped
Shredded cheese (or feta)
Garlic Salt
Lemon Pepper
3 eggs
250ml milk
A small piece of Butter or olive/avocado oil
Parmesan cheese for topping

  1. Grease the quiche dish (es).
  2. Cut Kumara into thin slices lengthwise.  Add oil or butter and a garlic salt to taste.
  3. Line Kumara on the Quiche plates and bake at 175 degrees C for 15 minutes.
  4. Heat up a wok and add a teaspoon of butter (or oil).  Fry the garlic pieces and onion slices till brown.
  5. Put in all the spinach.  Add garlic salt and lemon pepper and do a quick stir fry till spinach is wilted.  (If the spinach is a bit watery, add a teaspoon of cornstarch mixed with water to thicken).
  6. By this time, the Kumara base should be cooked and out of the oven.
  7. Put in some shredded cheese (or feta).
  8. Carefully arrange the cooked spinach onto the Kumara base.
  9. Pan fry the 4 bacon slices till slightly brown to give a nice aroma.  Put aside.
  10. Crack the 3 eggs and beat slightly.
  11. Mix the 250g milk with the eggs and continue beating until light.
  12. Pour the egg and milk mixture into the quiche dish.
  13. Arrange the bacon on the dish as the top layer.
  14. Sprinkle more shredded cheese on top.  Add some parmesan cheese to mix.
  15. Bake in the oven at 175 degrees C for 25 minutes.  The quiche is ready when the top is brown and the juices simmer.
3 Comments Add yours

  1. Reblogged this on littlegirlstory and commented:

    As I create new dishes, I am also starting to blog my recipes on Little Borneo Girl.

    My blog Little Girl Story has almost run out of space as I only have a free blog.

    Please follow me at Little Borneo Girl.

    Happy Blogging and enjoy my recipes.

    Like

  2. This looks amazing and I’m definitely going to have to try it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. Hope to see your yummy quiche soon. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

